All posts by Muna Salad

Minnesota elections

Tuesday’s midterm elections were a very surprising election in Minnesota, and many firsts were been made as many women took the lead.

Amy Klobuchar defeated Republican Jim Newberger by 625,614 votes and continues to add to her senate service of over 10 years. Tina Smith won against Karin Housley, and is Minnesota’s second senator, and won by 274,603 votes. The governor of Minnesota is now Tim Walz who defeated Republican Jeff Johnson by 295,261 votes.

Ilhan Omar beat Jennifer Zielinski by 193,258 votes, with most her votes coming from Hennepin County. She was the nation’s first Somali-American member of Congress and will be one of two Muslim women congresswoman. She was once a refugee and is headed to Washington D.C. She won Minnesota’s fifth congressional district.

Peggy Flanagan was the first Native American elected lieutenant governor, and was serving as a member of the House of Representatives since 2015.

Annie Craig became the first openly LGBTQ member of Congress from Minnesota, when she won the 2nd Congressional district by defeating Republican Jason Lewis.

In Hennepin county David Hutchinson will be the first openly gay sheriff in the Midwest.

Maria Regan Gonzalez will be the first Latina mayor in Richfield, and Kim Norton will be Rochester’s first woman mayor, also Jonathan Judd will be Moorhead’s first African American mayor.

Image taken from: